BEATING A DEAD HORSE – ONE IDIOM TO CONSIDER

GOT A LOT OF NERVE....LITERALLY!

idiom

I think most people have heard of this common idiom; if you haven’t here’s a link that will explain it to you:  http://www.knowyourphrase.com/phrase-meanings/Beating-a-Dead-Horse.html. 
I have always loved using idioms.  For myself, an idiom has been a special way of expressing something I’m feeling and at times the best way of explaining a situation in more visual way.   For example “the early bird gets the worm.”  It explains that you can easily get ahead  by being punctual and dependable.  Another one I really like is “It takes two to tango,” meaning  both people involved in a bad situation are responsible for it.
So today I came across a situation that I had once pursued but quickly gave up on.  That is when I started thinking about the idiom “beating a dead horse.”  It sound like a terrible thing to think of, but when you consider what it…

View original post 723 more words

Posted on May 11, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

